Education Specialist Degree Home

The USF Fredrikson School of Education developed the Education Specialist program as a response to educators across the state. This program is accredited by the NCA Higher Learning Commission, NCATE and the South Dakota Department of Education. Unique programming features of the Ed.S. degree allows working professionals to participate in this professional growth experience. This two year, 30-semester-hour program addresses the issues of geographic isolation and time constraints of travel by using a hybrid delivery system that includes summer coursework in condensed timeframes with an online component. During the school year, classes meet one Saturday of each month. Some exceptions to this schedule may occur. We offer two Ed.S. degree programs:

Ed.S. in Educational Administration/Principal - qualifies educators for SD superintendent licensure

Ed.S. in Educational Administration/Superintendent - qualifies educators for SD principal licensure

In addition to the Education Specialist degree, both programs offer opportunities for licensure/certification.

Upon successful completion of the Ed.S. in Educational Administration/Principal program, educators who don't already have principal certification qualify for the SD Administrator Certificate in elementary and/or secondary education.

Upon successful completion of the first 15 semester hours (the first 5 courses) of the Ed.S. in Educational Administration/Superintendent program, in addition to the comprehensive exam, participants can apply for the 10-year superintendent endorsement. Thus, participants may be eligible to obtain the superintendent endorsement after their first five courses of the program. From this point, participants then complete another 15 semester hours to complete the degree program and become eligible to obtain the career superintendent certification.

USF Ed.S. cohort groups have included men and women educators from all regions of South Dakota, Iowa, North Dakota and Minnesota. Their professional backgrounds have included current CEO's, elementary and secondary principals and people from other specialty areas in education.